The 5 love languages: How to give and receive love!

The 5 love languages: How to give and receive love

The Bible says God is love. He is the source of this marvelous attribute. Human beings, as God’s creation, have this beautiful transferable attribute given by God. In His Word, he makes mention of this short but powerful word that can do wonders when you apply it the right way. 1 Corinthians 13:13 & Colossians 3:14

For you to learn to use LOVE the right way you have to follow Bible principles in which Loving GOD is the most important because he is the one who can give you real love. As we said before, God is the source of love 1 john 4:8 .The second is loving yourself, it doesn’t mean you are going to act in a selfish way. It means once you know who God is and who you are in him, you are able to love others the same way God does.

There are many other strategies given by experts for you to learn building strong relationships based on love. That is the case of Dr. Gary Chapman who presents a simple truth:

-Relationships grow better when we understand each other.

-Everyone gives and receives love differently, but with a little insight into these differences, we can be confidently equipped to communicate love well.

Here there are some tips given by Dr. Gary Chapman for you to learn giving and receiving love. These tips were taken from his book “The 5 Love languages” which outlines five specific love languages which he argues are “the secret to love that lasts.”

Chapman writes about the importance of being able to express love to your partner in a way that they can understand best. According to him, each person prefers a different type of communication.

Learn about each of the five love languages that Chapman outlines in his book and for tips on how to determine your own love language.

1 – Words of Affirmation

This love language is all about verbal communication. If your S.O. identifies with this language, you might want to directly tell them how nice they look or how great a meal they cooked for you tasted. It involves showing love through the use of verbally affirming statements toward your partner. These words will also build your mate’s self-image and confidence.

2- Quality Time

Some people believe that being together, doing things together, and focusing in on one another is the best way to show and receive love. This includes being emotionally engaged with each other no matter what you’re doing, even if it’s just hanging out. If this is your partner’s love language, turn off the TV, ignore your cell phone, and give one another some undivided attention.

3- Receiving Gifts

The act of giving gifts is quite universal and for good reason. People who respond to this love language aren’t materialistic, rather, they enjoy knowing that they were on their partner’s mind even when they weren’t together. Gifts don’t have to be expensive to send a powerful message of love. It’s really the thought that counts.

4- Acts of Service

This love language is about doing things for your partner that require time and creativity. These acts of service could be anything from vacuuming the house or shoveling the snow outside to hanging a painting in the living room or planting a garden in the backyard. While it doesn’t matter what the specific action is, it does need to be done with joy in order to be perceived as a gift of love. For people who value acts of service, “actions speak louder than words”.

5- Physical Touch 

People who relate to the love language of physical touch place a lot of importance on physical affection. This touch doesn’t necessarily have to be sexual. You can show love through hugs, holding hands, an impromptu massage, and so on. Physical contact can be very reassuring and meaningful to someone who identifies with this love language.

Determining Your Own Love Language

An easy way to learn your love language is to ask yourself a few simple questions: How do I express love to others? What do I complain about the most? What do I request the most?

After you’ve pondered your responses to these three questions, you should be able to determine which love language you prefer, and it will be much easier to ask for what you need in your romantic relationships.

Leave your comments