$1,000 Fines and 6 Months in Prison for Quarantine Breakers in California

The more than 40 million citizens of the state of California are forced to stay at home thanks to a mandate that does not allow them to leave unless it is to buy food or go to the hospital.

The State Penal Code validated the decree

Only people who work in hospitals and supermarkets are allowed to continue doing their jobs.

Trying to stop the growing number of cases of Covid-19 infections, Gavin Newsom, the governor of California, made the state the first to take such drastic measures against the pandemic.

Millions of Californians were impressed by the historic partial curfew decreted last Thursday.

Instructions

The court order indicates that citizens should not leave their homes unless it is “necessary”.

Buying food, medicine and gasoline, caring for a sick or elderly family member, and seeing a doctor are just some of the activities that Californians can do outside of their homes.

Fines and jail

The last part of the law that Governor Newsom signed states that it will be applied “in accordance with California law.

This law includes section 8665 of the state Penal Code, which establishes penalties of up to $1,000 and six months in prison.

“Any person who violates any of the provisions of this chapter or who intentionally refuses or neglects to obey any legal order or regulation promulgated or issued pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be punished with a fine of not more than $ 1,000 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or a fine and imprisonment,” the section states.

However, the governor has not required police authorities to comply firmly with the law.

Instead, he is encouraging Californians to obey the order without using public force.

Source: Univisión

Leave your comments